• About us
  • Director of the Centre

Polyakov Sergey Lvovich

Director Polykov

Director of N. N. Alexandrov National Cancer Centre of Belarus

Doctor of the highest-grade qualification, MD DSc, Director of N. N. Alexandrov National Cancer Centre

Polyakov, Sergey Lvovich, was born on September 29, 1965, in the city of Bryansk, the Russian Federation.

In 1988 he graduated from Minsk State Medical Institute decorated with the Order of the Red Banner of Labour.

From 1988 through 1989 S.L.Polyakov served his internship at Gomel Regional Hospital.

In 1989-1991 he worked as an oncologist in the Outpatient Division, urologic oncologist in the Oncology Division No 2, Gomel Regional Cancer Dispensary.

From 1991 through 2020 Dr. Polyakov worked his way up from clinical resident – junior research worker in the Rehabilitation and Brachytherapy Division; urologist in the Urologic Oncology Division; senior research worker, leading research worker in the Urologic Oncology Division with Hyperthermia and Multimodality Treatment; leading research worker in the Department of Reconstructive and Plastic Surgery with Urologic Oncology Group; urologist, Head of the Urologic Oncology Division; Head of Urologic Cancers Department; Head of Urologic Cancers Department with Radiotherapy Group, to Head of Urologic Cancers Laboratory in the Surgery Department, N.N.Alexandrov National Cancer Centre.

In 1997 he defended his medical master’s thesis.

In 2018 he defended his MD PhD thesis.

On February 20, 2020 S.L.Polyakov was appointed Director of the State Institution “N.N.Alexandrov National Cancer Centre”.

Dr. Polyakov is the author of more than 300 scientific works, 3 monographs, 7 patents, 12 practical guidelines. He is a member of the European Urology Association, the Public Association “Belarussian Society of Urologists”, a member of the Administration Board of the Belarussian Urology Association, Chairman of the Scientific Council of N.N.Alexandrov National Cancer Centre.

He is awarded with the Badge “Excellent Public Health Worker of the Republic of Belarus” and the Medal “For Labour Merits”.